给帕森的建议

Dzogchen | Tibetan MastersDodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

English | Português | 中文 | བོད་ཡིག

Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

The Third Dodrupchen

Further Information:
Download this text:

给帕森的建议

多智钦 吉美 丹贝尼玛

上师吉美沃瑟前  双手合十恭敬礼
法乳滴滴皆师传  全知之意我略释

在谈到心和清净觉性或本觉的话题时,有些共同的教法说所有“心王”就是心,而认识就是“明和觉”。于是他们认为心就是意识的同义词,而觉性就是认识的同义词。然而这种解释在用于描述大圆满教义中的区分心和觉性的时候就不够正确了。

在大圆满中,心是轮回的根源,包含了执着事物为实有的意思,而清净觉性是按照内在的证悟(法性)平等安住的智慧。而且,这并不像是中观所抉择的通常的见解,中观是甚深的,因为它带来了一种殊胜的定解,通过理证显明诸佛对事物本体和存在的正见,并安立为世俗法自性的普基。而在胜义中,实存和不实存被认为是平等的,在胜义谛面前,一切理论的堆砌都相形见绌。在世俗中,大圆满的方法也是殊胜的,因为它包含了将所有显现视为无染清净的净见的修持。

这个大圆满的方法也是超胜于外续部诸乘的,因为它包含了观一切法为佛身佛智,然后无造作地安住于大圆满自然本智的甚深窍诀。它也超胜于内续无上瑜伽诸乘,因为它包含了一切法即为究竟清净的见解。它超胜于外续诸乘,因为即便这些续部拥有本尊瑜伽,但是却缺乏一种定见,即一切显现诸法在其自然本性中恒常不离诸佛身智的证悟。它也比玛哈瑜伽和阿努瑜伽超胜,因为无需修持生起次第和圆满次第,二种次第都是需要勤作的。由于一切法都被确认为本初的证悟和大清净智慧的光芒,故而只是去认出来,放松在基的自性中即可。

这与一些禅修者的方法不同,他们通常只是安坐在无明迷乱当中而不能切断执着来证悟其根本,更没有对于无染清净的证悟。

更多关于世俗法的本性即是佛身佛智、净与不净究竟上皆平等、以及显现法就是无染的清净等的详细的教证理证请参详全知荣宋和龙钦巴的著作。

总之,通常那种安住和观察交替的修法中,如果定解尚未生起就观察修,如果定解生起而未退就安住修。我很怀疑这种轮番交替的修法很可能并不是维持大圆满见的真正的方法。

愚人谬误作观察  愚言三倍失正见[1]
此处言语若有失  皆为愚者我之过
若生微尘之功德  皆为汝等自庄严

我,年轻的吉美,应帕森所请而写。愿一切贤善!

英藏译中(Eng+Tib->Chs)翻译,谷平 Eric Gu,2019年8月28日


参考书目

本文的版本

  • dPal seng gi ngor gdams pa in rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum.七函,成都:Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2003. TBRC: W25007, vol. 2, pp. 53–55

  • dPal seng gi ngor gdams pa in rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum.五函,甘托克,锡金:2000? TBRC: W23907, vol. 1, pp. 496–498

第二个来源

Krang dbyi sun (Zhang Yisun), ed. Bod rgya tshig mdzod chen mo. 三函,北京:Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 1985.

祖古东杜,《禅修大师和神通:藏传佛教龙钦宁体传承源流》不丹:香巴拉,1996


  1. dpyad gsum ma dag pa, i.e., 意思是有三层错误:1)外层与直接的感受相矛盾;2)内层与如理如量的抉择相矛盾;3)秘层是文义句义本身有问题。见"dpyad pa gsum gyis dag pa'i lung" in Bod rgya tshig mdzod chen mo, vol. 2, pp. 1643–1644.  ↩

Advice for Palseng

Dzogchen | Tibetan MastersDodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

English | བོད་ཡིག

Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

The Third Dodrupchen

Further Information:

Advice for Palseng

by Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

I bow respectfully to the guru, Drimé Özer,
And, with folded hands, pay homage.
Here, a tiny droplet of instruction from
The omniscient guru, I shall now explain.

On the subject of what we call 'mind' (sems) and 'pure awareness' (rig pa), some common scriptures say that all that is 'main mind' is mind, while cognition is what is 'clear and aware'. They thus claim that mind is synonymous with consciousness (rnam shes), while awareness is synonymous with cognition (shes pa). Yet such explanations are insufficient when it comes to identifying mind and awareness as they are spoken of in the Dzogchen texts.

In Dzogchen, mind is the root of saṃsāric existence and includes a tendency to cling to things as real; while pure awareness is the wisdom of settling evenly in accordance with intrinsic reality (dharmatā). What is more, this is not like the mere common view of the Middle Way; it is superior because it brings about a special kind of certainty through the reasoning that proves how the buddhas' insight into how things are is present as the perfect ground of ordinary beings' basic nature. On an ultimate level, both true existence and the absence of true existence are understood to be equal, and all theoretical posturing is therefore overcome in the face of ultimate reasoning. On the conventional level, too, this approach is superior because it incorporates the practice of viewing all phenomena as infinite purity.

This Dzogchen approach is also superior to the outer mantra vehicles, as it incorporates the profound key point of seeing phenomena as buddha-forms and wisdom, then settling, without contrivance, in the great natural condition. It is also superior to the vehicle of the transcendent perfections because it involves viewing phenomena as infinite purity. And it is superior to the outer mantra vehicles, because even though these tantras have deity yoga, they do not have the view which recognises that, in their natural state, these appearances have always been enlightened as buddha-forms and wisdom. It is also more profound than Mahāyoga and Anuyoga, because there is no need to train in the generation and completion stages, both of which involve effort. Instead, since all phenomena are recognised as primordial enlightenment, and the radiance of pure great wisdom, it is sufficient simply to abide by a recognition of this, relaxing in the nature of the ground.

This differs from the approach taken by some contemporary meditators, those who merely settle in delusory perception without cutting attachment to reality at its very root, and without realising the nature of infinite purity.

More details on how the nature of the conventional is buddha-forms and wisdom, or how ultimately both pure and impure are alike in lacking true nature, as well as proofs of how appearances are infinite purity and so on, can be found in the works of the omniscient Rongzom and victorious Longchenpa.

In short, I wonder whether alternating in meditation between analysis, for as long as certainty about these points has not yet arisen, and settling, when certainty has arisen and does not wane, might not be an authentic means of sustaining this understanding.

Any foolish, mistaken analysis,
Or foolish talk, triply invalid,[1]
In what I have here set down
Is due to me, the foolish one.
Still, if anything here is of value,
Take it as your own adornment.

I, the youthful Jigme, wrote this in response to Palseng's request. May it be virtuous!


| Translated by Adam Pearcey, 2015.


Bibliography

Editions of the text

dPal seng gi ngor gdams pa in rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum. 7 vols. Chengdu: Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2003. TBRC: W25007, vol. 2, pp. 53–55

dPal seng gi ngor gdams pa in rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum. 5 vols. Gangtok, Sikkim, 2000? TBRC: W23907, vol. 1, pp. 496–498

Secondary sources

Krang dbyi sun (Zhang Yisun), ed. Bod rgya tshig mdzod chen mo. 3 vols. Beijing: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 1985.

Tulku Thondup, Masters of Meditation and Miracles: The Longchen Nyingthig Lineage of Tibetan Buddhism. Boston: Shambhala, 1996.


Notes


  1. dpyad gsum ma dag pa, i.e., invalid on three levels: 1) the apparent level, as it conflicts with what can be perceived directly; 2) the hidden level, as it conflicts with what can be correctly inferred; and 3) the extremely hidden level, as there are inconsistencies within the text itself. See "dpyad pa gsum gyis dag pa'i lung" in Bod rgya tshig mdzod chen mo, vol. 2, pp. 1643–1644.  ↩

• Download this text: EPUB MOBI PDF