关于阿赖耶、阿赖耶识的口传释义

Dzogchen | Tibetan MastersYukhok Chatralwa Chöying Rangdrol

English | 中文 | བོད་ཡིག

Yukhok Chatralwa Chöying Rangdrol

Yukhok Chatralwa Chöying Rangdrol

Further Information:

关于阿赖耶、阿赖耶识的口传释义

玉科 夏扎瓦 秋英让卓

我们称作“阿赖耶”或者“普基”的有两种:

首先,是本初胜义的阿赖耶,也就是我们通常说的如来藏、佛性。这是如海功德的因,也是产生三身五智的根本。

然后,有一种染污的世俗(轮回)的阿赖耶,也就是产生庸常、染污的显现诸法的根本,比如八识聚或者说“心王”,五十一心所,八十随形好等。这种阿赖耶就像一个容器,存储着之前的所有心念的业力种子,也是未来念头产生的地方。

而“阿赖耶识”是前五识、第六意识和第七染污识的作用的根本,这个“普基识”直接面向无量的外境以及其内部的种子,而不会陷入任何绝对的本体论的极端对立当中,比如存在或者不存在等等。它不会分别对象各自的特性,比如它们是不是白色或者蓝色等等。

阿赖耶本来就远离了概念心识的粗大的错谬,可以类比为无波的大海。如果我们专注于此并纯熟于这个境界,就能够转生于无色界。如果我们更加熟悉它的明清的特质——事实上在它的本体中,觉性并非是含藏于其自体中的[1] ——我们就能够转生于色界天中上部的十二层天,而非下部的五层。然而如果我们不太纯熟的话,就会转生于色界天的下部。

由于阿赖耶远离了概念心识,就像无云晴空,这种觉性的自性就是平静的、深奥的和非常微细的,它含藏着过去心的业力的种子,以及未来成熟现行的潜能,因此它非常难以认出来,这在上师昂藏 [2]、娘拉[3] 和恰共[4] 的口传中都有提及。

大全知说:“当我们呼叫某人时,他的心即刻暂时处于远离一切心念的无计当中,那就像是阿赖耶的样子。片刻之后,无障碍地感知到了对境,清晰并活跃,也并无任何感知上的拖泥带水。那种毫无念头的明晰就是阿赖耶识。”

喇嘛娘拉说:“想象有人正在背着一个沉重的包裹穿越广阔的平原,当他在平原当中不得不停下来休息的时候,精疲力竭的强烈的力量就会让任何念头停止——那个远离了念头的状态就是阿赖耶。”

前五识都是从阿赖耶识生起的,通过它们,概念心识得以成熟,并进一步造成情绪心识的产生。

在概念心和情绪心产生作用的过程中,前五识很难寂静下来。或者说概念心和情绪心更加表层,前五识比较微细,而阿赖耶识最微细。

阿赖耶识具有成熟和沉淀的特性,前五识具有生起和停止的特性,概念与情绪心则具有能所二取分别执着的特性。

更细致地说,心识作为五根的门户,其特性与视觉功能很相似,就像眼识能够毫无阻碍地照见可见物。

你可能会问,那些各种心识什么时候会消失呢?通常来讲,它们会在睡眠时,官能衰退时(比如昏厥时),或者死亡时消失。除了这三种场合外,它们都不会消失。当它们消散时,首先是情绪心开始消散,然后是概念心,然后是五根识,最后是阿赖耶识。如果阿赖耶识没有消散,那么睡眠、官能衰退以及死亡就不会发生。

当那些种种心识消散时——无论根据任何传承而言,在密续、大手印或者大圆满中——都宣称那是基光明的真实初现。在那一刻,如果我们认出了自性,就可以说是认出了净光。但是如果我们没有认出,就意味着仍旧是无明、迷乱、迷惑或者中阴。

当修行者安住于禅修,在净光乍现之时,他们能够在梦中认出来。如果你能够这样认出来,就可以认为你能够在死亡的时刻通过认出明光而得到解脱。

而且,也有教导说,庸常的八识会在三种情况下消散:1)声闻圆寂时;2)地上菩萨入定时;以及 3)密续修行者的二取分别心消失时。

除此以外,如果说五根识、概念心和情绪心消散了,就意味着我们失去了行持善或者不善的行为的能力。根本续《声应成续》说:

毫无谬误之禅修,
五种根识当清明。

在这里表明,当五根识寂静的时候,他们具有静止或者持续的特质。如果我们不能够从静止当中发掘出清明,就会转生为旁生。然而发掘出清明之后,如果我们不能够在随后有效地放松,就仍然会被自己的所知束缚。寻求放松的方法就是在放松和警觉之间交替。如果我们能够这样反复地交替修,那么大概用七八天的时间,我们就能够学会如何放松。

当我们达到了放松,就会发现(念头)生起。我们必须要在生起当中解脱,而不是延续已生起的念头。除非我们能达到这种自由,否则就会陷入欲界。因此,忽视了这些要点,就会步入三种歧途。

通过意识,我们可能会执着于乐、明和无念,这会让我们陷入三界(欲界、色界和无色界)。然后,在五根识的感受中,如果我们流连于所见的明,就会转生色界。因而,虽然有七种堕落,但是如果我们能够无谬地安住在五根识的寂静中,就能够避免所有堕落。

另外,有分别的概念意识包括向外和向内两种执着。

向外的执着意味着追随过去,预想未来,以及为当下的内外诸法设定概念标记。这包括紧紧抓住所见、所闻以及其他对境的概念而不愿改变。

向内的执着发生在禅修的寂静当中,此时心识将乐受执着为大乐、明清执着为明性、无念执着为空性。

染污的情绪心负责对于进行得不错的事情,在其结束时执着于那些愉悦感;而对于进行的不好的事情,则执着于那些迟钝、烦躁之类的感受。

无论何时,当我们体验到乐、明或者无念时,能觉的心识认清并执着于所觉的觉受经验。而通过反复地熟悉这一过程,能觉与所觉就能够融合为一,于是就不会有念头出现了。

那么现在,你必须:

最初从皈依和发广大菩提心开始。

然后在修持中间,敞开五种根识的大门,接受一切。

如果你体会到寂静而且强烈的鲜活性,如果明性显著,就需要修放松。

如果念头生起,让它们自己解脱。

用这些原则来封印强化你的修持。最后,在修持的封印破裂之前,回向功德。教授中说,这样修持就可以避免障碍和堕落。

当然,如果不能够认出根识觉受的寂静,那么从皈依发心开始,然后发一个清净的心愿:

寂静之中当生清明性,
清明之中亦须坦然住,
何时诸念生起即解脱。

最后是结尾的回向功德。这也非常有益于禅修。 愿一切吉祥!

中文翻译,谷平 Eirc Gu,2019年8月1日


  1. 觉性力并非阿赖耶所含藏的种子,也不是种子异熟的功能  ↩

  2. 昂藏朱巴  ↩

  3. 很可能是伏藏师列绕朗巴  ↩

  4. 敦珠林巴  ↩

• Download this text: EPUB MOBI PDF

Notes from the Oral Tradition

Dzogchen | Tibetan MastersYukhok Chatralwa Chöying Rangdrol

English | བོད་ཡིག

Yukhok Chatralwa Chöying Rangdrol

Yukhok Chatralwa Chöying Rangdrol

Further Information:

Notes from the Oral Tradition on Ālaya, Ālaya Consciousness, etc.

by Yukhok Chatralwa Chöying Rangdrol

What we call the ālaya or ‘ground of all’ is of two kinds:

  • First, there is the primordial absolute ālaya, which is what we call the sugatagarbha, the buddha-nature. This is the cause of vast, ocean-like qualities and the basis for the arising of the kāyas and wisdoms.
  • Second, there is the impure saṃsāric ālaya, which is the basis for the arising of ordinary, tainted phenomena, such as the eight types of ordinary consciousness or ‘main mind’, the 51 mental states, and the 80 subtle indicative conceptions. This ālaya is like a container in which habitual traces from previous thoughts are stored, and also supports the arising of future thoughts.

The ālaya consciousness is the basis for the appearance of the five sensory consciousnesses, mental consciousness and tainted emotional mind. This all-ground consciousness is directed towards the vast outer world and its inhabitants, which do not fall into any ontological extreme, such as existing, not existing and so on. It does not discern the individual features of objects, such as their whiteness, blueness and so on.

As the ālaya is, in essence, free from the turbulence of gross conceptual thought, it is comparable to the ocean free of waves. If we abide by this one-pointedly and familiarise ourselves with such a state, we will be reborn in the Formless Realm. If we become more familiar with its clarity aspect—the fact that, in its essence, consciousness is not hidden from itself—we might be reborn not in the five realms of the āryas among the seventeen heavens of the Form Realm, but in the twelve higher levels reserved for ordinary beings. The weaker our familiarity however, the lower will be the location of our rebirth within the Form Realm.

Since the ālaya is free from conceptual thought, like a sky devoid of clouds, this consciousness in which habitual traces from earlier states of mind are stored, and which functions as a support for future states, is by its very nature peaceful, profound and extremely subtle. It is therefore exceedingly difficult to recognize, as is stated in the oral traditions of Lama Adzom,[1] Nyala[2] and Chakong.[3]

The great Omniscient One said, “Just as when we call out to someone whose mind then abides momentarily in a neutral state free from any thoughts—that is what the ālaya is like. Soon afterwards, the objects of perception appear, without obstruction, clearly and vividly, and without there being any clinging in our perception. That aspect of clarity devoid of thoughts is the ālaya consciousness.”

Lama Nyala said, “Imagine someone running across a vast plain while carrying a heavy pack. When the person stops to rest in the middle of the plain, the sheer force of their exhaustion will cause any thoughts to stop—and that state of freedom from thought is the ālaya.”

It is from the ālaya consciousness that the five sensory consciousnesses arise. Through them, conceptual mind consciousness develops, leading to the arising of the emotional mind.

For as long as the conceptual mind consciousness and emotional mind remain, the equilibrium that is present in the five sensory consciousnesses will not manifest. It is said that conceptual mind consciousness and emotional mind are more apparent; the five sensory consciousnesses are subtler; and the ālaya consciousness is extremely subtle.

The ālaya consciousness is characterised by developing and subsiding; the five sensory consciousnesses have the feature of arising and ceasing; while the mind consciousness and emotional mind are characterised by the duality of the grasping and the grasped.

In more detail, the types of consciousness with features similar to visual consciousness, which is said to illuminate seen forms unobstructedly, are the five sense doors.

You might wonder when it is that these forms of consciousness cease. For ordinary beings, they cease during sleep, when the faculties fail (i.e., unconsciousness), and at death. With the exception of these three occasions however, they are unceasing. When they do cease, it is the emotional mind which ceases first, then conceptual mind consciousness, then the five sensory consciousnesses, and finally the ālaya consciousness. If the ālaya consciousness did not cease, sleep, failure of the faculties and the moment of death could not occur.

When these forms of consciousness cease—according to whichever tradition we are following, be it Secret Mantra, Mahāmudrā or Dzogchen—this is said to mark the actual dawning of the ground luminosity. At that time, if we recognise our own nature, that is known as recognising clear light. But if we fail to recognise it, that is what we call ignorance, bewilderment, delusion, or the indeterminate (lungmaten).

When practitioners rest in meditation, if clear light dawns, they recognise it as dream-like. If you can do this, it is said, then you can be liberated by by recognising luminosity at the moment of death.

Moreover, it is also taught that the eight types of ordinary consciousness cease on three occasions: 1) during the śrāvakas’ absorption of cessation; 2) during the meditation of ārya bodhisattvas; and 3) when dualistic perceptions fade for practitioners of the mantrayāna.

Otherwise, if the five sensory consciousnesses, conceptual mental consciousness and emotional mind were to cease, it is said, we would not be able to carry out any virtuous or non-virtuous actions. The root tantra known as Unimpeded Sound says:

For the unerring meditation,
The five senses must be clear.

As this indicates, when the five senses are in equilibrium, they have a quality of stillness or abiding. If we don’t bring out the clarity from this stillness we could end up being reborn among the animals. Having brought out the clarity however, if we don’t then accentuate the aspect of relaxation we might still be bound by fixation towards our own perceptions. The method for finding relaxation is to alternate between relaxation and alertness. If we can alternate like this again and again, the teachings say, then within about seven or eight days we will learn how to bring about relaxation.

When we bring out the quality of relaxation, we also find that there is an aspect of arising. We must bring about liberation within the arising, without prolonging rising thoughts. Unless we can bring about this freedom, we could stray into the Desire Realm. So, lacking these points, there are three possible pitfalls.

With mental consciousness, we could become attached to experiences of bliss, clarity and absence of thought, which would cause us to stray into the Three Realms. Then, among the five sensory perceptions, if we wander astray based on the visual consciousness, we will be reborn in the Form Realm. Thus, there are seven pitfalls, but it is said that we will avoid them all if we can rest perfectly with the five senses in equilibrium.

In addition, the objects of the conceptual mental consciousness involve both outward and inward clinging.

  • Outward clinging means following the past, anticipating the future, and labelling outer and inner phenomena in the present moment. It consists of holding onto concretising notions about sights, sounds and so on.

  • Inward clinging occurs during meditative equipoise, when the mind clings to blissful experience as bliss, clarity as clarity and absence of thought as emptiness.

The tainted emotional mind is responsible for the attachment and feelings of joy when the session is over, if it went well; or for aversion and feelings of unhappiness if it did not and we experienced dullness, agitation and the like.

Whenever we experience bliss, clarity or absence of thought, the subjective mind identifies and clings to the objective experience. It is said that through the force of becoming accustomed to this again and again, object and subject can merge together indivisibly so that we remain without thought.

Now then, you must:

  • Begin by taking refuge and arousing bodhicitta.
  • Then, in the middle phase of the practice, allow the five sense doors to remain open and expansive.
  • If you experience stillness, accentuate vivid clarity. If there is clarity, bring more relaxation.
  • If thoughts arise, allow them to be liberated.

Seal your practice with these principles. At the end, before the ‘seal’ of the practice is broken, dedicate the merit. By practising in this way, it is taught, you will avoid obstacles and pitfalls.

Alternatively, even if you cannot recognise the equilibrium of sensory experience, begin with refuge and bodhicitta. And then, having purified thoughts:

  • bring vivid clarity whenever there is stillness,
  • relaxation whenever there is clarity, and
  • liberation whenever thoughts arise.

Finally, dedicate the merit at the end. That is fine too and will suffice as meditation, it is said.

May all be auspicious!

Translated by Adam Pearcey, 2016. With thanks to Alak Zenkar Rinpoche and Patrick Gaffney.


  1. Adzom Drukpa  ↩

  2. Most likely Tertön Sogyal Lerab Lingpa  ↩

  3. Dudjom Lingpa  ↩

• Download this text: EPUB MOBI PDF