乌金丹增诺布的最后开示

Dzogchen | Testament | Tibetan MastersDodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima | Tibetan MastersOrgyen Tendzin Norbu

English | 中文 | བོད་ཡིག

Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

The Third Dodrupchen

Further Information:

乌金丹增诺布的最后开示

多智钦 吉美丹贝尼玛

敬皈依上师尊!

我们殊胜的上师乌金丹增诺布,这位精通五明而且通过大圆满心髓之道获得了解脱的圣者,在离世之前,以偈颂的形式宣说了最后的遗嘱:

我乃乌金莲花生
生死自在之佛陀
觉醒之心无偏袒
远离四双与八辈

对此我略释如下:

通常,本师佛陀在转动佛法之轮的不同阶段中间所教授的教法都是为了保护弟子们在生、死以及中阴阶段不要堕入恶趣。在这些教法中,对于金刚乘的顶严无上心髓传承来说,在大本初清净的本始基当中并没有任何迷乱,然而,如果不认出这个,在本觉显发的能量当中,就会有迷乱出生。透过三种无明——一体、异体以及非一非异,二取执着的念头一个接着一个地在无尽的辗转中得到增强。之后,由于执着,我们就会堕入业力和烦恼的无尽轮回当中。

如果认识并且熟悉了不被迷乱污染的本体的真实自性,生死的幻境就自然得以逆转。然而我们没法通过思维或者造作的心来认识本体的自性。我们必须要接受来自传承清净的具格上师的能成熟的灌顶的甘露与能解脱的窍诀引导。之后,通过对上师与乌金金刚持无二无别的信心的增上,我们的心就会开启大乐,上师的智慧心就会无二融入我们的心。通过这些方法,我们就会认出心的自性状态,也就是没有营造或染污,本来圆满的,无死的莲花生。然后对此产生决断并令其稳固。这个认出并非偶然或刹那的因缘造就的,因此它是不生的。它不是可增可减的,也不是转变或变化来的,因此它是不灭的。故而这个无生无死就是本来俱生的,当我们对于佛陀不从外来获得信心的时候,那就是狮子吼。

我乃乌金莲花生
生死自在之佛陀

当此觉性的自性或者觉性的心显露时,生与死的显现就不见了,执着的心从内部被切断,分别思虑的轮转也就消失了。

希冀与恐惧,或者迎合与拒绝等心念,一切法都汇集于超越了分别概念营造的涅槃中,不会给清净觉性带来任何割裂,清净觉性也是不假外缘的。任何生起都是自生,任何生起都是自显。所有轮涅当中的能所诸法的生起都是此超越了边见的清净觉性的显现。这些显现最终都消融于基。当基的本位安住于其自地时,就超越了原来的基,并在法身中显现出觉性,也就是童子瓶身,这个超越了局限的净光。因此在遗嘱当中说:

觉醒之心无偏袒

因此,在此乘中,并没有将“果”单独安立,因为那样是属于四双八辈[1] 的方式。在别的方便中,我们将迷乱的显现看作是错误的,并且通过一些特殊的瑜伽来加以校正,于是我们可以断除三界的“见所断惑”,却没法断除欲界的“修所断惑”;或者我们为了断除某些惑而进入三界中的一界;或者可以断除了大多数欲界的烦恼;或者可以断除迷惑但是并未断除所有色界和无色界的烦恼,其结果是生与死的烦恼依然如故等等。此处,相比而言,出于自生无偏的本初清净的大周遍的证悟的广境,所有基和道都同时达成。这一点必须要详细说明,所以遗嘱当中说:

远离四双与八辈

这也显示出了超胜于下下乘之处。

其意义概括如下:

以上师的智慧一体无二地融合你的自心,平等安住(不是造作地专注)在本觉空性的真实广境中。然后,死亡降临时,无论中阴当中出现任何可怕的迷乱景象,都不会令觉性迷失于其自地之外。这个“安住本位”就是前面三行的核心所在。这是本传承中死亡时刻的无上引导,也被称为“见地转为无上法身”。对此有很多事情需要去理解,比如当下保任的方法,以及死时采用的方法等。

最后一行展示了此道对于其他乘的优胜之处就是其他乘都需要勤作,这意味着对自己的修道的确信必须要稳固。

换句话说:

前面两行表明了此道可以达成无死。有些人可能会认为只有这一点并不能称为诸乘顶严,因为即便是声闻和缘觉乘都可以阻断生死的痛苦。因此在第三行描述了原因而第四行描述了结果。

为了答复忠诚、勤奋并且聪明的德休 扎登不断的请求,丹贝尼玛在地鸟年(1090)孟春月(第二个月)下弦月第三殊胜日迅速写下了此文。

英译中(Eng->Chs)翻译,谷平 Eric Gu,2019年9月5日

参考书目

藏文来源

Dad brtson blo ldan ’das shul grags ldan ngor gdams pa in rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum. 7卷,成都: Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2003. TBRC: W25007, vol. 2, pp. 21-25

第二藏文来源

Nor brang o rgyan. Chos rnam kun btus. 3卷,北京: Krung go’i bod rig pa dpe skrun khang, 2008.
纽修堪布,“大圆满传承源流蓝宝石”。Translated by Richard Barron. Junction City, California: Padma Publication, 2005. pp. 482-486
Pearcey, Adam. “乌金丹增诺布”。 www.treasuryoflives.com 网站
祖古东杜,“禅修和神通大师:藏传佛教龙钦宁提传承” Boston: Shambhala, 1996.


  1. 总称四双八辈,是声闻乘圣者的八个位次。其中四指的是须陀洹, 预流(rgyun du zhugs pa),斯陀含,一来(lan gcig phyir ’ong ba),阿那含,不还(lan gcig phyir mi ’ong ba)和阿罗汉,无生(dgra bcom pa)。每个果位都分为两阶段,分别为“向”和“果”,即须陀洹向,须陀洹果,斯陀含向,斯陀含果,阿那含向,阿那含果,阿罗汉向,阿罗汉果,总共八圣位。(参见“skye bu zung bzhi’am gang zag ya brgyad” in Nor brang o rgyan, Chos rnam kun btus, vol.1, 493.)  ↩

• Download this text: EPUB MOBI PDF

On the Final Words of Orgyen Tendzin Norbu

Dzogchen | Tibetan MastersDodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima | Tibetan MastersOrgyen Tendzin Norbu

English | བོད་ཡིག

Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

The Third Dodrupchen

Further Information:

On the Final Words of Orgyen Tendzin Norbu

by Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

Homage to the guru!

Our noble teacher, Orgyen Tendzin Norbu, trained in the five sciences and gained liberation through the path of the heart-essence of the Great Perfection. At the moment of his passing, he spoke the following verse as his final testament:

I am Guru Padmākara of Oḍḍiyāna,
A buddha free from birth and death.
Awakening mind is impartial and unbiased,
Beyond labels of the eight stages, the four pairs.

If I were to elaborate a little on the meaning of this:

Generally, all the various turnings of the wheel of Dharma by the Lord Buddha were offered purely in order to protect disciples from the miserable routine of birth, death and the intermediate state. Among these teachings, for the ultimate tradition of the heart-essence, which is the vajra pinnacle, there is no delusion in the condition of great primordial purity, the original ground, and yet, not recognising this, the appearances of delusion, which are the creative energy of rigpa, arise. Through the three types of ignorance – single identity, co-emergent and imputational – thoughts involving dualistic grasping develop, one after another, in an endless chain. Then, through grasping, we are drawn into the endless cycle of suffering caused by karma and mental afflictions.

Through recognising and becoming familiar with the actual nature of the essence, which is untainted by confusion, the delusions of birth and death are naturally averted. Yet we can not see the nature of this essence through intellectual speculation (rtog ge) or through a mind that is contrived. Instead, we must receive the nectar of ripening empowerments and liberating instructions from an authentic guru who has inherited the actual transmission. Then, by cultivating the devotion of seeing the guru as inseparable from the vajradhara of Oḍḍiyāna, our mind will be inspired with blessings and the guru’s wisdom mind will merge inseparably with our own mind. Though this, we will recognise the mind's natural condition, without contrivance or contamination, as the all-perfect, deathless Padmākara himself, then decide on that and gain stability. As this recognition is not generated through temporary causes and conditions, it is free from birth. And as it is not seen to increase or decrease or undergo transition or change, it is free from death. Thus, the attainment of birthlessness and deathlessness is bestowed naturally, in its own place, and when we gain the confidence of not seeking buddhahood elsewhere, there can be the lion’s roar proclaiming:

I am Guru Padmākara of Oḍḍiyāna,
A buddha free from birth and death.

When the nature of this awareness or awakening mind manifests, the appearances of birth and death are cast aside, the mind of fixated clinging is cut from within, and the cycle of conceptualisation is left behind.

Hopes and fears, or notions of adopting and avoiding, all focused on a nirvāṇa that is beyond conceptual elaboration, do not bring about any fragmentation of pure awareness, which is itself unsupported. Rather, whatever appears is its self-appearance, and whatever arises does so as its self-expression. All that might be labelled as subjective or objective throughout saṃsāra and nirvāṇa simply arises as the evolving manifestation of this pure awareness that is beyond partiality or bias. And these expressions dissolve within the ground. Once the stronghold of the ground is seized in its own place, this is superior to the original ground, as there is awakening within the sphere of the dharmakāya, the youthful vase body, clear light beyond confinement or restriction. Thus, the testament says:

Awakening mind is impartial and unbiased.

Therefore, in this vehicle there is no system of positing the fruition as something separate, as there is in the eight stages of the four pairs.[1] According to that approach, we regard delusory appearances as faults and train in a limited form of yoga, through which it is possible to overcome the ‘seeing discards’ of the three realms, but not the ‘meditation discards’ of the desire realm; or else, to enter that realm in order to discard them; or to discard most of the desire-realm afflictions; or to discard them all but not totally overcome the afflictions related to the two upper realms, with the result that the sufferings of birth and death are still not entirely overcome, and so on. Here, by contrast, out of the expanse of realisation of great, all-pervasive primordial purity, which is self-appearing and unbiased, all the grounds and paths are traversed at once. This point must be spelled out in detail, so the testament says:

Beyond labels of the eight stages, the four pairs.

This also shows how this is superior to the lower vehicles.

The meaning in a nutshell, then, is as follows:

Merging your own mind inseparably with the guru’s wisdom, settle evenly (without deliberately ‘settling’) in the genuine expanse of rigpa-emptiness. Then, at death, none of the terrifying delusory appearances of the intermediate state will cause awareness to stray from its own place. This ‘seizing of the stronghold’ is the essential message of the first three lines. It is the ultimate instruction for the moment of death within this tradition, and is also known as ‘the ultimate dharmakāya transference through sealing with the view’. For this, there is much to understand, such as the way to sustain it right now, as well as the way to apply it at the time of death.

The final line shows how this path is superior to the other vehicles, all of which require effort; it means that certainty in one’s own path must be stable.

To put it another way:

The first two lines show the means of achieving deathlessness through this path. Still, some might object that this alone would not make this the pinnacle of vehicles, because even the śrāvakas and pratyekabuddhas have a path that puts a stop to the sufferings of birth and death. In that case, it would suffice to offer the final line as a response and the third line as providing the reason.

In response to persistent requests from the faithful, diligent and intelligent Deshul Drakden, Tenpai Nyima quickly wrote down whatever came to mind on the third excellent day of the waning phase” (i.e., 27th) of the Phālguna month (dbo zla) in the earth bird year (1909).


| Translated by Adam Pearcey, 2015.


Bibliography

Tibetan sources

Dad brtson blo ldan ’das shul grags ldan ngor gdams pa in rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum. 7 vols. Chengdu: Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2003. TBRC: W25007, vol. 2, pp. 21-25

Secondary sources

Nor brang o rgyan. Chos rnam kun btus. 3 vols. Peking: Krung go’i bod rig pa dpe skrun khang, 2008.

Nyoshul Khenpo. A Marvelous Garland of Rare Gems. Translated by Richard Barron. Junction City, California: Padma Publication, 2005. pp. 482-486

Pearcey, Adam. "Orgyen Tendzin Norbu" on Treasury of Lives www.treasuryoflives.com

Tulku Thondup, Masters of Meditation and Miracles: The Longchen Nyingthig Lineage of Tibetan Buddhism. Boston: Shambhala, 1996.


Notes


  1. i.e., the four categories of stream-enterer (rgyun du zhugs pa), once-returner (lan gcig phyir ’ong ba), non-returner (lan gcig phyir mi ’ong ba) and arhat (dgra bcom pa), each of which can be further divided into the emerging (zhugs pa) and the established (gnas pa) to give eight categories in total. (See “skye bu zung bzhi’am gang zag ya brgyad” in Nor brang o rgyan, Chos rnam kun btus, vol.1, 493.)  ↩

• Download this text: EPUB MOBI PDF