“真实”与“教授”的四种情况

Dzogchen | Tibetan MastersDodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

English | 中文 | བོད་ཡིག

Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

The Third Dodrupchen

Further Information:
Download this text:

“真实”与“教授”的四种情况

多智钦 吉美 丹贝 尼玛

敬礼上师!
介绍
下面的内容是应请求而作,用来简单明了地澄清殊胜的“心髓”[1] 手册(《智慧上师》)当中“真实教授”部分所述的四种情况。
‘“教授”在这里的意思是“基”的自性——就是“基”、“道”和“果”三者当中的“基”。“真实”的意思是明确地达成。这两者因而就成了必须要去证悟的目标以及证悟的内涵。
“基”包括三个特质,“本体”、“自性”和“大悲周遍”。其中,传授大悲周遍被用来帮助人理解“基”是如何运作的,人们因此就能够了解解脱道的重点,然而它(大悲周遍)本身却并不是真实的“基”。“本体”和“自性”,通常被说成是“空性”和“明性”,对应着法界和觉性的两类特质。由此,“基”被分成两个部分。这意味着“基”不应该仅仅认为具有“觉性”一种特质。 虽然在原文(《智慧上师》中真实教授部分)中使用了一些例子,比如庙宇,代表了证悟的身、语、意的佛像及其基座等,但这些都只不过是例子,也并不意味着证悟本身同佛像及其基座真的具有直接的关系。在第一类中对”教授”使用的例子是庙宇,在第二类中则是用佛像的样貌(特质)。然而这些例子无论是前面说的还是后面说的,都代表了一个事物——”教授”,如果不像那样用不同的方式来表述清楚”教授”的话,或者由于没法分辨看见庙宇和看见佛像之间的差别,或者由于没法分辨出三种佛像的样貌(特质)差别的缘故,就没办法辨别完全具备“真实”和”教授”与只具有“真实”而缺乏”教授”之间的差异了。这就意味着那些例子也无法厘清“心髓”[2] 瑜伽当中的殊胜之处了(不那样举例就意味着例子运用失败)。 即使是需要被证悟的基续都已经被证悟了,如果它没有被直接证悟,就意味着处在真实的直接经验中,如此就被称作有”教授”而无“真实”。很明显这就是它的意思,即使有些术语并没有被明显地写出来。当我们说:“在真实的直接的经验当中证悟”,就意味着直接地证悟。显然,并不需要有个一“义总相” [3]作为中间的媒介。因而“直接”并不是“暗含”的反义词,也并不是意味着在一个特定显现上证悟到其没有本体,会间接地导致在其他显现法上的也会有此证悟。 现在让我们看看是如何分类的。

1、有”教授”无“真实”

我们说通过上师慈悲授予的窍诀,你对于如何分辨平庸心识和清净觉性具备了一定的理解。之后你发现在内的殊胜大圆满乘与外的密续乘之间,对于如何实现圆满证悟之道方面,存在着非常大的差异。即使你之后通过理解离边空性获得了一些确信,但如果尚未通过觉受经验的力量掌握消除违缘的修持,你就仍处于第一种情况——也就是看见庙宇,但看不见佛像。这个类比与《发觉净心经》中的一段类似:“此处,言说即是外在道…等” [4]。关于这点,《胜乘宝藏论》中说:“这就是置身于大圆满‘教授’层次的人的特征,他们没有付诸修持,只是对着法性吹热气,因此会死于平庸。”

2、有“真实”无”教授”

接受了窍诀指引之后,首先当“路”(非真实的觉受)现前时,你将其误认为是“法界”。然后,当“腿”(非究竟的觉性力)直接出现时,它是透彻明晰的,不参杂丝毫概念的尘埃,平常得没有任何纠结造作,它遍覆一切,不被任何碎片化的显现所限制。你模糊地认识到它具备了这些独具一格的特性。当你将其应用到法界和觉性时,这似乎就是大圆满了,当你确认并维持着具有清净觉性的特质所在时,“基”的自生自显似乎就会越来越清晰。之后,你遣除了禅修当中的昏沉等障碍,按照共同乘教法中所说的那样修持奢摩它。你可能需要再次确认之前所认为的清净觉性是否有误,但是由于你的心智之前并没有借助于对区分心和觉性具有了稳固的理解和而变得更加成熟,你的经验觉受就会变得有些困惑。(你会觉得)可能之前并没有对清净觉性具有真实的确认,就好像是艾灸没有找对穴位一样,导致你已经无法认出法界那非常本初清净的特性了。这就是有“真实”而无”教授”,就像是看见了三尊佛像却无法分辨其样貌差别。在《胜乘宝藏论》中说:“有些窍诀在一开始准确地击中要点,但是,由于并没有突破文字相的障碍,之后不能继续关注要点,反而转为另一种造作。”因此,上面这些这并不是简单地说经验觉受变成了困惑,以及你安住在困惑当中,而是说从一开始所有产生觉受和证悟的根源就是不稳固的。

3、无“真实”无”教授”

你可能会认为,既然“一切法无我”,那么法界的空性是不是极端的虚无主义呢?或者即使你控制自己不要陷入这种纠结,你也仍旧难以理解禅修的要点,也就是如何与大圆满所说的“基”建立连接。有一些人根本无法区分中观的见解与接受大圆满指引之间的差别。你只能从一些教言中获得一些不准确的了解,那里说两者是一样的。然而由于二者当中进行抉择和安住的方式迥然不同,因而具有显著的差异。

你可能会用很敬仰的文字来描述心的本体的透彻的明性,比如“内在的毫无暗钝的智慧”,或者“内在的明光”等等。并且当有人问起这与外道所说的专注有何差别时,你可能会说这取决于是否对经验觉受有所执着。但是像这样宣扬这类贫乏的教义就是属于既没有”教授”,也没有“真实”,也就像是既没有见到庙宇,也没有看到佛像。如《胜乘宝藏论》所说:“那些接受了基于共同乘教义有造作的‘见’、‘修’等理论的人,无法被引导进入真实义,因而也就不能确认他们最终会去往哪里。”

《智慧上师》在此处说:“你会在平庸当中死去。”然而《胜乘宝藏论》却将这个说法用在了第一种情况。虽然二者是两种不同类型的平庸,但是在无法取得禅修进步的方面却都是一样的。第三种情况明显地展示了那种无法发掘窍诀要点的状况,也可以说修行者即便完全接受了所有窍诀,但是之后却没有在修行实践中运用所学的方法。即便是高阶的修学者也会受此影响,通过不断地听闻、思维和禅修就可以对这种影响有所认识。就像前面所解释的,第一种情况中会产生这种影响在逻辑上也是说得通的。然而《胜乘宝藏论》首先是将第一种情况解释为无法发现窍诀的全部要点,这从‘没有拿到手’这个说法中也可以看得出来。

这里的意思是,比如当你修持其他无上瑜伽续次第时,你可能已经了解了明光和智慧身的意思,但是如果尚未完全理解圆满次第脉、风和明点的修持,你就仍是一个没有浆的船工。同样的,你可能通过各种解释文字理解了觉性、觉性的明光,或者“基”和“基现”的意思,但是除非你不但精通保任的要点,而且将理解转化为“道”与“果”的精要(修持),否则也依旧像这句话所说的:“渴死在含糊不清的教义沙漠当中”。

所有这些的意思是说,即使完全地学习和思维那些清晰而且系统全面地解释了大圆满各种教义的经论著作,有助于你在前面三种情况中分别有所进步而进入更高的程度,但是如果你如实地实践好闻、思和修这三者的话,就能够完全超越三种情况的局限,这是很清楚的事情。

“真实教授”之道就是在真实的教授的原则抉择出的窍诀。

你可能会纠结为什么《智慧上师》中这样解释第二种情况,“有一些理解是基于教理分析得来的,但是它们与经验觉受也有关联……”,而解释第一种情况时说,“这指的是仅仅基于文字……关于‘见’和‘修’”。你可能会问,这些说法同本文的解释如何才能无误地调和呢?毫无疑问是没有矛盾的。关于第一句,在前文中说,经验觉受是不稳定的,所以用否定的形式来表述那种贫乏的情况(并非完全没有经验觉受),从上文引用的词句中也可以看得出来。第二句是说,由“闻”和“思”所形成的效果要合二为一地受持。

虽然还有很多要点可以继续说下去,但是这样简单的列举应该就足够了。

4、有“真实”有”教授”

《胜乘宝藏论》解释第四种情况时说:“由于你直接见到了清净觉性,就不会再依赖‘见’和‘修’等种种观念。因为‘基’已经被认清楚,就无需再转回去了。”如果你将这句话同前面所说地关联起来,就会明白这非常简单。

结论:

本文并非对“真实教授”进行名词解释,而是讲述如何在大圆满加以运用,讲述过程中对“真实”和“教授”分开解释,并且列举了四种情况。

虽然像我这样的人根本无法尽言全知上师的密意,我还是尽快地就我所知写下了一些观点。愿如你一般的智者用广阔的智慧来审视,愿一切善德吉祥!

中文翻译,谷平,2019年7月26日


  1. 吉美林巴的《智慧上师》  ↩

  2. 也就是说,如果前后运用例子的方式不变,那么就意味着看见三种佛像就会包含了看见佛像所在的庙宇,那么也就没法区分这个例子(只看见佛像)和第四个例子(既看到庙宇也看到佛像)的差异了。  ↩

  3. 这个词汇是karmadhāraya合成词,所以英文翻译为”generic object”是不准确的。在印语和藏语中这个词用于书面的因明学中,见Tillemans 1999: 234.  ↩

  4. 在此经中,将语言或文字说成是外在的道,或者在蜜罐外面叫嚣却尝不到滋味。而蜜罐里面的甜味,就像是所谓的真实意义。认识了真实的意义就如同尝到了蜜糖的甜味。  ↩

Permutations of Actual and Basis

Dzogchen | Tibetan MastersDodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

English | བོད་ཡིག

Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpe Nyima

The Third Dodrupchen

Further Information:

How to Count the Four Permutations of Actual and Basis

by Dodrupchen Jigme Tenpé Nyima

Homage to the guru!

Introduction

What follows is in response to a request to clarify briefly what has been said on the method of counting the four permutations (mu bzhi) of ‘actual basis’ (dngos gzhi) in the great guidance manual of the Heart-Essence.[1]

‘Basis’ here means the nature of the ground — as one of the triad of ground, path and fruition (gzhi lam ’bras gsum). ‘Actual’ means that it is made evident (mngon du gyur pa). These two refer, therefore, to what must be realized (rtogs bya) and the means of realization (rtogs tshul).

The ground is said to include the three qualities of essence (ngo bo), nature (rang bzhin) and compassionate resonance (thugs rje). Of these, compassionate resonance is taught so that one might understand how the ground functions and so that one might know the main point of the mode of liberation (grol lugs); it is not however the actual ground. Essence and nature, which are explained as emptiness and clarity, correspond to the two qualities of space (dbyings) and awareness (rig), into which the ground is divided. And this means that the ground here should not be taken to mean awareness alone.

Although the text uses the example of a temple and its representations of enlightened body, speech and mind, which are related in the manner of support and supported (rten dang brten pa), this only applies to the examples; it is not an assertion that the referents are similarly related as support and supported. The example for basis in the first permutation is a temple, whereas in the second permutation it is the features (mtshan nyid) of the three representations. The referent (don) of these examples, however, is the same, i.e., the basis, in both earlier and later permutations. If the basis were not illustrated differently like this, then because there is no contradiction between seeing a temple and its three representations and yet not being able to determine the features of the three representations, there would be no means of distinguishing being both the actual and the basis from being the actual but not the basis. This would then mean that the example could not successfully illustrate the superiority of the yoga of the Heart-Essence.[2]

Even if the ground continuum that is to be realized has been realized, if it is not realized directly, meaning in actual direct experience, then it is said to be the basis but not the actual. It is evident that this is what is meant, even if some of the words are not spelled out explicitly. When we say, “realized in actual direct experience”, it means realized directly (dngos su), as when, for example, there is no need for the intermediary of an object-universal (don spyi; *arthasāmānya).[3] Direct is thus not the opposite of implicit (shugs); nor does it imply that realizing the lack of true reality in a single phenomenon leads indirectly to such realization concerning other phenomena.

Now let us consider how each permutation is identified.

1. Basis but not Actual

Let us say that through the guru’s kindness in granting instructions, you gain a special understanding of the procedure for distinguishing the ordinary mind (sems) and pure awareness. Then you understand that there is a great difference in the basis of accomplishment separating the higher paths of the vehicle of transcendent perfections (pāramitā) and the lower classes of tantra from the full strength of realization on this path. Even if, in addition, you then gain some certainty through an understanding of the actuality (de kho na nyid) beyond extremes, if you have not mastered the practice for eliminating projections through the force of experience, you are still at the level of the first permutation—that of seeing the temple, but not seeing the three representations. The analogy here is equivalent to the statement in the Adhyāśayasaṃcodanasūtra that, “In this, talk is like the outer layer…etc.”[4] And about this the Treasury of the Supreme Vehicle says: “This is comparable to those few who leave Dzogchen at the basic level, without applying it practically, and simply spout hot air about dharmatā, so that they die an ordinary death.”

2. Actual but not Basis

When receiving pith instructions, at first when the ‘course’ (dkyus) is revealed, you recognize it as basic space (dbyings). Then, when the ‘runner’ (rgyug byed) is shown directly, it is lucidly clear, free from the dust of conceptualization; ordinary without the tight knots of contrivance; and all-pervasive, unconfined by fragmentary appearances. You recognize somewhat vaguely what has these distinctive features. When you apply this to basic space and awareness it seems to be Dzogchen, and when you identify and sustain that trace of what has the features of pure awareness, the self-radiance (rang mdangs) of the ground appears to grow clearer. Then you clear away faults in meditation such as sinking dullness and you cultivate the tranquillity (śamatha) that is common to all vehicles. You might decide again that your recognition of pure awareness is unerring, but as your mind was not previously matured through a stable understanding of the distinction [between mind and awareness], your experience has become confused. There can be no identification of pure awareness. It is as if there is no vital point at which to apply moxibustion (me btsa’). You can no longer identify the aspect of basic space as a feature of extraordinary primordial purity. This is the actual but not the basis, which is likened to seeing the three representations but not determining their features. As it says in Treasury of the Supreme Vehicle: “Some instructions strike the right chord at the beginning, but, by failing to cut through the limitations of verbalism, do not remain with the crucial point and turn instead into speculation.” Thus, this does not mean simply that experience becomes confused and you settle into that confusion, but that even before that the root of all experience and realization is unstable.

3. Neither Actual nor Basis

You might think, “All phenomena are empty,” confusing a nihilistic extreme (chad mtha’) for basic space. Or, even if you manage to avoid such confusion, you might fail to understand the key point of meditation, which is how to relate to this natural state (gnas lugs), the ground, in this vehicle. There are some who cannot distinguish between discovering the view of the Middle Way and receiving the introduction in Dzogchen. You can understand from the texts just how inappropriate it is to treat these two as equivalent: as their approach to analysis and settling is so dissimilar, there is said to be a great difference between them.

You might describe a mere penetrating clarity (sal le hrig ge ba) of the essence of mind in lofty terms, such as “wisdom that is inward and not dull” (thim la ma rmugs pa’i ye shes) or “inner luminosity” (nang gsal) and so on. And when asked how this differs from the meditative absorption of non-Buddhist outsiders, you might say that it comes down to whether there is attachment to experience. But professing such impoverished Dharmas (phongs chos) is to have neither basis nor the actual, a situation likened to failing to see the temple and the three representations. As the earlier [commentary, i.e., Treasury of the Supreme Vehicle] says, “Those who adopt an approach of speculative view and meditation based on the general terminology common to all vehicles are not introduced to the true meaning, and therefore fail to recognize where they must go in the end.”

Here, the great guidance manual (Yeshe Lama) says, “You will remain ordinary at the time of death.” Yet the Treasury of the Supreme Vehicle says something similar about the first permutation. Although these are two different ways of remaining ordinary (tha mal), both are similar in that they involve a failure to capture what develops in meditation. The third permutation obviously denotes an inability to discover the key point of the instructions. It could also mean receiving the instructions in their entirety, but then failing to apply successfully in practice what has been received. This might affect even supreme students, as can be understood from the sequence of listening, reflecting and meditating. There would therefore be no logical fault in including such a situation within the first permutation, as explained above. Nevertheless, the Treasury of the Supreme Vehicle explains the first permutation as, above all, a failure to discover entirely the key points of the instructions, as is clear from the phrase “without taking to hand” (lag tu blang du med par).

The meaning of this is that when you are training in other perfection stage practices of Highest Yoga Tantra, for example, you might understand the explanations of the clear light or wisdom form (ye shes kyi sku; jñānakāya), but unless you also fully understand the practices through which they are accomplished—the yogas of channels, wind-energies and essences—you are just like a boatman without any oars. Similarly, you might understand the explanations of awareness and its radiance or the meaning of the ground and ground-manifestations, but unless you are also skilled in the definitive points of how to remain and thereby transform your understanding into the essence of the path and fruition, it will be just as in the saying: “In the desert of ambiguous treatises, stricken by thirst and left to die.”

All of this means that even thoroughly studying and reflecting upon works in which the various aspects of the Dzogchen path are clearly and comprehensively set out will enable you to go beyond the first three permutations to some degree; whereas if you undertake all three—study, reflection and meditation—well you will be able to transcend them all completely. That is clear.

The ‘actual basis’ of the path is to be distinguished from the instructions on the actual basis.

You might wonder why the guidance manual (Yeshe Lama) explains the second permutation by saying, “There is some understanding derived from conceptual analysis, but it is unconnected to experience…” and explains the first permutation by saying, “This refers to relying upon mere words… as the view and meditation.” How, you might ask, are such statements to be reconciled with what is explained here? There is no fault. In the earlier case, experience is not yet stable, so the negation is used for what is meagre (rather than absent entirely), as can be understood from the quotation given above. And in the second case, what is born of reflection and what is born of listening are taken together as one.

Although there are further points that might be added, this should suffice for a simple list.

4. Both Actual and Basis

The Treasury of the Supreme Vehicle explains the fourth permutation by saying: “Since you see pure awareness directly, you no longer rely on ideas about what view and meditation might be. As the ground is seen, there is no basis for turning back.” If you relate this to what has been said above, it is extremely simple.

Conclusion

This was not an explanation of the term actual basis (or main part) as understood in the general language of the scriptures, but how it is applied in Dzogchen, which separates the two words actual and basis and counts the permutations.

Even though it is not possible for the likes of me to explain the intent of the omniscient Guru, I have quickly set down a few ideas as they occurred to me. May the wise such as you examine it with a broad mind. May there be virtue and auspiciousness!

| Translated by Adam Pearcey, 2018. First published on Lotsawa House 2019.

Bibliography

Editions Used

The collected works (gsuṅ ’bum) of Rdo Grub-chen ’Jigs-med-bstan-pa’i-ñi-ma. 5 vols. Gangtok, Sikkim: Dodrupchen Rinpoche. 1974-75. W23627 vol. 5: 187.4–193.5

rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum. 5 vols. Gangtok, Sikkim, 2000? W23907 vol. 1: 547.5–554.2

rDo grub chen ’jigs med bstan pa’i nyi ma’i gsung ’bum. 7 vols. Chengdu: Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2003. W25007 vol. 2: 104–110

Secondary Sources

Germano, David. "Architecture and Absence in the Secret Tantric History of the Great Perfection (rdzogs chen),” Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies 17.2. pp. 203–335

Higgins, David. The Philosophical Foundations of Classical Rdzogs chen in Tibet: Investigating the Distinction Between Dualistic Mind (sems) and Primordial Knowing (ye shes). Vienna: Arbeitkreis für Tibetische und Buddhistische Studien Universität Wien, 2013.

Pearcey, Adam. A Greater Perfection? Scholasticism, Comparativism and Issues of Sectarian Identity in Early 20th Century Writings on rDzogs-chen. Unpublished PhD thesis. SOAS, University of London. 2018.

______ Beyond the Ordinary Mind: Dzogchen, Rimé, and the Path of Perfect Wisdom. Snow Lion Publications, 2018

Tillemans, Tom. Scripture, Logic, Language: Essays on Dharmakīrti and his Tibetan Successors. Boston: Wisdom Publications, 1999.


  1. i.e., in Jigme Lingpa's Yeshe Lama.  ↩

  2. In other words, if the example did not change, then given that seeing the three representations necessarily involves seeing the temple in which they are housed, there would be no distinction between this example (seeing only the representations) and the fourth example (seeing both the temple and its representations).  ↩

  3. This term is a karmadhāraya compound, so, strictly speaking, translations such as “generic object” are incorrect. On the use of this term in Indian and Tibetan writings on logic and epistemology see Tillemans 1999: 234.  ↩

  4. The sūtra compares talk or words to the outer layer or ‘bark’ of sugar cane which gives no flavour. The sweet taste, which is inside the cane, is likened to the actual meaning of what is said. Understanding the meaning is like tasting the sugar.  ↩

• Download this text: EPUB MOBI PDF